Favorite Friday: It’s More Than Just Music

This Favorite Friday is all about dancing. What better topic than my favorite DJ! In North Carolina, if you want your event to be talked about for months, guests to never leave the dance floor and superb attention to detail there is only one thing you need…Virtual Sounds. They are one of the top DJ’s in the North Carolina area. Proms, weddings, high school reunions…these boys to do it all. Completing around 250 events a year, Errin Brown and his team will never disappoint. Errin took some time out of his busy schedule so that I could share some behind the scenes information.

From: Virtual Sounds

CJ – Why did you decide to start a DJ service company?

Errin – Great question. My best friend (Dustin) and I love messing with audio equipment of any kind, whether it’s a big P.A. system, car audio, or stage systems. We’ve always had a constant attraction to it and playing our favorite songs. People around us have always wanted us to bring a sound system. Then one day a friend of the family asked us to DJ a Mary Kay sock hop. LOL. That’s right. Mary Kay got my DJ career off the ground. The rest is history.

CJ – How did you come up with the name Virtual Sounds?

Errin – Our name “Virtual Sounds” came when we decided to become a mobile DJ business. We wanted something that sounded modern, state-of-the-art, and advanced. After tossing names around all evening we kept coming back to Virtual. So we said to each other, “Ok, Virtual what?” Virtual Sounds it is.

From: Virtual Sounds

CJ – What is your favorite aspect of DJing?

Errin – My favorite aspect of djing is very simple. I love what music does to people. Everyone likes different styles of music everywhere you go. However, it makes everyone feel the same, happy. I love to be around happy people no matter what I am doing. So having a job where I get the opportunity to make people feel happy is a constant rush and motivation for me.

CJ – What is your least favorite aspect of DJing?

Errin – My least favorite aspect of djing is also simple. Being away from my family on the weekends. Although this is how I support my family, it’s very tough being away from my family on the weekends unlike most traditional families. Therefore you will likely see me out on Monday and Tuesday, that’s when our “weekend” begins.

From: Virtual Sounds

CJ – If you could give one piece of advice to your clients what would it be?

Errin – The best advice I could give one of our clients would be: remember what you hired the DJ to do-entertain your guests. So don’t get so caught up in all the things that you want. Your guests seem to get overlooked. Sure, it’s your special day and it’s very obvious. However, you are surrounded by 50-500 of your closest friends. They are there supporting you and celebrating with you. So if you have a certain song on your “do not play list”, consider your guests’ song requests and still allow your DJ to play your guests’ songs that they would like to hear as well. A great DJ will keep your playlist in mind at all times and mix it with the songs that are packing out the dance floor. Therefore, everyone is happy. Sure, you don’t like that song but, look at Uncle
Bobby out there having a good ole time.

CJ – What has been your favorite event to date? Why?

Errin – I personally, have well over 1,000 events under my belt, so choosing one is hard. A few years ago I did a wedding in Cape Hatteras NC, the great outer banks. We had one of our big signature setups ready to go outside. It was a little windy already but, the day, and wind, was pressing on. Once the ceremony was over, the guests began to make their way to the reception. Each minute that went by the wind keep increasing. After about 30 minutes, there was a 40 mile per hour head wind making every one very uncomfortable. I couldn’t even turn my microphone on without getting white noise overpowering the music. Here I had all my big equipment lights with trussing and sound equipment ready for a big party. The mother of the groom finally came up and said “We are asking everyone to go inside. We can’t handle the wind and possible rain. Would you mind taking a speaker upstairs to the 4th floor and just playing a little music?” Without hesitation I had my crew load up the truck and I took my mixer, laptop, speaker, and a tripod to the 4th floor. So back to my roots is where I went, no fancy stuff. Just me and a microphone and speaker. I totally rocked that party and kept a crowd of about 50 people dancing all night long. I received many compliments and bookings from that wedding. It’s truly one I will never forget.

From: Kerri Crutchfield Photography

CJ – Share one personal, unique, or silly thing that makes your company different from all the rest.

Errin – The thing that makes us unique at Virtual Sounds is the incredible staff. If you are going to work for Virtual Sounds, you must have a sincere passion about what you do. The staff would work for free and never settle for just getting by. The staff will always go the extra step to make sure you have the best party ever, one that you will remember for a life time. It’s something you really can’t put into words, but I recognize it the first time I take someone to their first gig.

Leave a Reply

